Effective from 9pm Friday 20 March, Australia will refuse entry to all temporary residents other than those who meet the exemptions as below.

At this stage, we understand that those exempt include:

  • New Zealand citizens resident in Australia
  • The immediate family members of Australian citizens and permanent residents (spouse/partner, children, and legal guardians).

All those who are still eligible to Australia will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.

Temporary visa holders who do not meet one of the exemptions above will have their visa cancelled. Arrangements will be made to reinstate visas as appropriate following the lifting of these enhanced border control measures.

Further information on the Australian travel restrictions and the Coronavirus can be found on the Australian Border Force website here.

For the latest news on international travel restrictions, please visit the Newland Chase (our sister company) website here.